Skip to main content


EU programme for education, training, youth and sport

Erasmus Mundus Joint Masters (organisations)

Applicant profile

Any higher education institution (HEI) established in an eligible country can submit an application. The applicant applies on behalf of a partnership that includes other HEIs. The proposal must present a fully developed and accredited joint study programme, ready to run and to be advertised worldwide, if selected.

About Erasmus Mundus Joint Masters

Erasmus Mundus Joint Masters are high-level and integrated study programmes, at master level. They are designed and delivered by an international partnership of higher education institutions. An EMJM involves at least three HEIs from three different countries, of which at least two must be EU Member States and third countries associated to the Programme (previously called Programme Countries).

Additionally, an EMJM study programme may involve other educational and/or non-educational partners with specific expertise and interest in the area of study.

The EU provides funding for both running these programmes and offering competitive scholarships to the best students worldwide.

Duration: 6 academic years, covering at least 4 editions of the masters programme

Grant per project: up to €5 million

EU scholarship for individuals: €1,400 per month (max. 24 months)

Activities and outcomes

The fully integrated curriculum must include at least 2 study periods in 2 countries (different from the country of residence of students), of which at least one must be an EU Member States or third country associated to the Programme. An EMJM enrolls excellent students worldwide.

Duration of each edition of the master: 1 to 2 academic years (60, 90 or 120 ECTS credits).

Type of degree awarded: either a joint degree (recommended) or multiple degrees.

Applications and more information

Erasmus Mundus in the Erasmus+ Programme guide

Learn how to apply for the first time

Related funding calls

Related documents